Why Don’t I Have a Bakery???

Whenever I have a bit of time off, I am always asking myself this question, as I LOVE spending my spare time in the kitchen. To a lot of people, baking is somewhat of an arduous task, but I enjoy it to no end. It doesn’t matter whether I am making an old favorite, or creating something new, I just relish the time that I can spend making yummy treats and snacks for my family and friends (and our sweet dogs too!). Today, I only had a few errands to run, so I knew that I would get to spend some time with my KitchenAid mixer and my Sil-pat (which made me very excited!). While I did bake something familiar (peanut butter-pumpkin dog treats), I decided to get a little creative when making my second treat: rather than make “regular” oatmeal-chocolate chip cookies, I decided to make a bar cookie with a similar base, but with a texture more similar to a granola bar. I must say, I really do like how they turned out, though my husband might disagree; since he wanted actual oatmeal-chocolate chip cookies, I don’t know if he’ll be too crazy about these, but I think he’ll come around to the idea.

That being said, if you’re interested in trying a new recipe, this is a good one, since it’s not complicated, and you don’t even have to form individual cookies!

Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Bars

1/2 c. sugar

3/4 c. brown sugar

2 sticks of butter, softened

2 eggs

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 c. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

3 c. oats

1 1/2 c. chocolate chips

1. Cream butter and both sugars; add eggs and vanilla.

2. Combine dry ingredients (except for oats and chocolate chips) and add to creamed mixture; beat until combined.

3. Add chocolate chips and oats, and stir in by hand; press into an ungreased 13×9 pan.

4. Bake at 350 for approximately 30 minutes; cut into bars and enjoy!

 

5 responses to “Why Don’t I Have a Bakery???

  1. mary mcgreevy

    I wish I could reach in and take a couple!
    The picture is so good —maybe you should be a food photographer.
    I just might make some tonight.

  2. thanks! well, you could take a little short-cut, and just have me bring some over tomorrow or wednesday!

  3. I’ll eat the ones Frank doesn’t eat. They sound scrumptious!

  4. Katie! I had no idea about your blog 🙂 I love it!

Leave a Reply

