Yummy Treats (No, Not For You, But For The Dogs!)

I know, I know. It’s been way too long since I posted a recipe, especially since the word “recipes” is actually in the title of my blog description. It’s not that I haven’t been cooking, I just really haven’t had any time to do that AND blog about it. Well, now that school is out and the wedding festivities are finished, I can get back to doing both!

Seeing as Boxers are notorious for their sensitive stomachs, my husband and I are VERY careful about what we feed them. They are on all-natural food, and the only treat they get is a daily milk bone at lunchtime (we call it their “midday snack”). While this may seem a little bit too restrictive (even to me, as my childhood dog would occasionally eat bacon and eggs with us on the weekends), it has really helped to keep them healthy and happy (and us too, as it has cut down dramatically on their gas!). Whenever I have the opportunity and the luxury of a little extra time, I like to make homemade treats for them. Though they don’t get a lot of treats, I still think that it’s better for them to be eating something that’s not full of junk.

This recipe originated in a cooking class that I took a few years ago, and it has really evolved into my own. I make several different versions, but here are the two that I use the most:

Peanut Butter-Oatmeal Dog Treats

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 tsp. baking powder

3/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup wheat germ

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup water

*** Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Roll into tablespoon-sized balls and flatten slightly. Place on a cookie sheet and bake at 325 for 15-20 minutes. When they are done, they should have the texture of slightly-underdone cookies.

Peanut Butter-Pumpkin Dog Treats

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 cup canned pumpkin

1/2 cup wheat germ

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup water

*** Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Roll into tablespoon-sized balls and flatten slightly. Place on a cookie sheet and bake at 325 for 15-20 minutes. When they are done, they should have the texture of slightly-underdone cookies.

If your dogs are anything like mine, they will LOVE these treats. And if your father-in-law is anything like mine, he will tell you that they aren’t bad, but could be better with a little sugar (after mistakenly eating them, thinking they were “regular” cookies)!

3 responses to “Yummy Treats (No, Not For You, But For The Dogs!)

  1. Aw, these are adorable! You are such a good mommy to your girls! Speaking of men eating dog treats…did I ever tell you that my brother used to eat plain dog bones with easy cheese? Yup, very true!

  2. funny, but i can TOTALLY see matt doing that! granted, i’m picturing it after a few beers and a dare, but still, i can see it!

  3. That’s too funny about Mr. Rannou eating the dog treats!!!! I’m laughing just picturing it!

Leave a Reply

