For My Mom

Looking ahead to Mother’s Day, I wanted to carve out a little bit of time to talk about my mom. From the time I was a little girl, she has always been by my side. Whether it was playing dress up, swinging on the swings, or just walking and talking (like Fred and Ted), she was always my best friend. I can’t think of a time when she was not by my side, whether it was walking me into preschool, or keeping me calm before I walked down the aisle. There really is nothing like the closeness shared by a mother and a daughter. You know what the other one is thinking without even asking. You can finish each other’s sentences practically before they have even begun. You can fight like crazy, yet make up in a second and go on as if nothing had happened.

I feel so unbelievably lucky to have been blessed with such an amazing mother. She is the most loving, caring, honest, and wonderful woman I could even imagine. I truly treasure her, and I only hope that I have shown her as much love as she has shown me. Happy Mother’s Day, Mary McGreevy!!!

3 responses to “For My Mom

  1. Oh my sweet Katie. I know how lucky I am to have you.
    Thank you for everything you said. Every day I realize how lucky we are to have one another and to experience the Mother – daughter bond. You are so right…we know one another well.
    Thank you for loving me for 30 years — and I am overjoyed that you do . I love you. xoxoxoxoxo Yary

  2. Katie, that was very special what you wrote to your mom. You are so right when you say that you are lucky to have one another. Auntie Di

  3. Your mom IS great! Love me some Mary McGreevy! Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

