Mr. Wilson’s New Love/Hate Relationship

Well, my husband got his wish, and we “gutted” our front yard last week. And by “we,” I mean his friend Marc’s landscaping company. You see, as much as he loves to “do the yard,” this project would have been a little much. All of the plants that had previously occupied our yard are now a distant memory, and each day when we drive up, we like to look at the new masterpiece that is now unfolding, due to the consistently warm temperatures and seemingly unending rain. To say that we are very pleased is an understatement; everything looks wonderful, and we are so happy with the decision to re-do our yard. But, even with all of the new “goodies,” some problems have arisen. Now, they are not really my problems, but I have a feeling that they soon may be, due to the fact that they directly affect my husband. We have been getting lots of compliments and questions about our new landscaping, which is nice, but along with those come the possibility of “copycats.” Yes, copycats.

When we went to the nursery to pick out plants, my husband made certain to pick out things that no one else in our neighborhood had, in order to make our yard look different (and yes, I’ll say it, a little better). Well, now we fear that, by making that decision, we may have shot ourselves in the collective foot. In talking with several neighbors, comments such as, “Maybe I’ll look into some of those trees for my yard.,” or “I think those trees would look great flanking my entryway” have led my husband to believe that other neighbors might decide to replicate what we did in our yard. Each time that I heard someone mention something along these lines, my eyes would immediately go to Mr. Wilson to see the look on his face. And let me guarantee you, each time, it was priceless. In an attempt to be friendly (which he is), he would smile and say thank you, but I knew that inside, he was wanting scream /punch this person in the face/put up a 20-foot wall around our house. As of yet, no one has “made the move,” but I know that when it does happen, our new, beautiful yard will probably become a NEWER, beautiful yard. Just like women don’t like to be caught in the same outfit as someone else, I guess the same thing applies to men and their landscaping. Well, at least mine!

2 responses to “Mr. Wilson’s New Love/Hate Relationship

  1. We need pictures!

  2. oh lord, if i do that, all hell will break loose! then, even more people will want those damn trees! 😉 i’ll post some soon; i want to let things grow a little bit more, b/c most of the plants are little now!

Leave a Reply

